Remember, Appreciate, Celebrate

“For love of country they accepted death.” – James A. Garfield

I hope everyone is having a safe Memorial Day weekend and taking time to remember those who have fought for freedom and have died servicing our country. For many, this weekend seems to be the “official kickoff” to summer with all the BBQ’s, camping trips, gardening, and festivities. I have honestly done zilch, zero, nada all weekend because the hubby is out of town at work. My daughter and I did catch some of the Ski to Sea road biking action on our way home yesterday, which was pretty cool. We enjoyed watching them race down the foothills of Mt. Baker at speeds I don’t think I would be comfortable doing on a bike. Who knows, maybe someday I will brave taking to the roads on a road bike. Anyway, for a late lunch today, I made roast chicken with gluten free pasta salad. It turned out delicious! I cut up some watermelon to give our plates some color, which was nice on this dreary day. This meal reminds me of a picnic on a beautiful day.

roast chicken with gluten free pasta salad and watermelon

I am not the biggest fan of macaroni salads or pasta salads that are present at most picnics or BBQ’s. I always find they leave a funky taste in my mouth and they are too runny. I got my inspiration from the Food Network and a potato salad recipe. This version of pasta salad is really thick and creamy and can be made gluten free or non-gluten free.

Gluten Free Pasta Salad

1 cup diced celery

1/4 diced red onion

2 tbsp minced flat leaf parsley

1/2 cup mayo

1 tbsp grainy mustard

2 tbsp sweet relish

1/4 cup – 1/2 cup (depending on desired thickness) european style sour cream

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

1/2 tsp – 1 tsp (depending on desired taste) paprika

4 cups gluten free shell shaped pasta

Mix the diced celery, diced red onions, and minced parsley in a medium mixing bowl. Add the mayo, mustard, relish, sour cream, salt, pepper, paprika, and shell noodles and mix well. Voila!

Now it is time for me to get motivated to finish the laundry and get in a weight training session in my awesome home gym! Have a great evening everyone!

Leave a Reply

