Ducky Day!

Today was rather blah. I don’t know if it’s the weather or my lack of energy. Maybe I am getting my lack of energy from the dreary weather. Hmph. Who knows. Last night, my daughter asked me if we could make gluten free peanut butter and banana sandwiches for breakfast. Of course, you can’t go wrong with that! I used TJ’s sunflower butter in mine.

So delicious! I enjoyed it, regardless of the messy banana that kept falling out from between the bread. After breakfast, I did my usual rounds of taking care of the dogs, chicks, and ducklings. I enjoy my time outside, it is nice to collect your thoughts and listen to nature. After that, I snacked on a pear, then headed out to my gym to run a few miles on the treadmill.

I was in pretty good spirits, and I think it helped me when I covered the display with a towel. I quit looking at what I was accomplishing and just kept going with the music. I am trying not to get discouraged when I read other blogs about 7-8 minute miles as I know we all have to start somewhere. But right now, I feel like I am not accomplishing anything. After my run, I made lunch, which was a smoked kielbasa and a giant meatball that I made and froze. I think the meatball disagreed with my stomach, because I was off for the rest of the afternoon and had to take a nap to escape the stomach pain. After my nap, my daughter and I went outside to bring out our ducklings, Bluebell and Daffodil.

Bluebell and Daffodil

These two can make any day a good day. They are runner ducks, so they stand like little bowling pins and run around.Actually, we are not sure if Daffodil is a runner, because she doesn’t stand like Bluebell. We’ll see when she gets older. So cute! These two are like peas in a pod, they cannot be separated. After spending some time outside, it was time for dinner. I was excited for dinner because we had Copper River Salmon! I am originally from Alaska, and I love me some Copper River Salmon.

Thank you Costco!

I roasted the salmon with olive oil, salt, and dill, and served it over caramelized onions and wilted kale with balsamic vinegar. Then topped it all off with a mustard/balsamic vinegarette.

This seriously turned out way better than it looks. I really need to take some photography classes. Maybe I will get better over time, right?

Question:

Do you like salmon? What is your favorite way to enjoy it?

 

Leave a Reply

