BBQ Chicken Pizza

For dinner I made BBQ chicken pizza. It is one of my favorites! Well, my hubby too! I haven’t made pizza for a few months because I have been avoiding gluten like the plague. But of course, my pizza cravings got the best of me. This pizza is best served with beer, in my case I am drinking gluten free beer to avoid a tummy ache. For the dough, I use Peter Reinhart’s Neo-Neapolitan dough recipe. It is one of my favorites and I have never had a pizza fail with it. Of course, you can use any dough recipe or pre-made if you wish.

 

BBQ Chicken Pizza

Pizza dough recipe of your choice or pre-made dough

1 chicken breast, grilled, sliced into bite size pizza

1/4 – 1/3 cup BBQ sauce

About 1 cup smoked gouda, shredded

About 1/2 cup aged cheddar, shredded

1/3 cup red onion, minced

Jarred, sliced jalapenos, as many as you wish

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

Corn meal for dusting pizza peel

Pre-heat the oven to as-hot-as-it-goes for about 45 minutes. Mine is 500, plus I use the convection option. I also use a pizza stone, which I leave in the oven at all times. If you do not have a pizza stone, be sure to use a pizza pan, which does not need to pre-heat. Grill chicken breast, let it rest for 10 minutes then slice into bite-size pieces. Set aside. Shred your cheese, mince your onions, and chop the cilantro. Set aside. Shape pizza dough into a round and approximately 12″ circle, place on corn meal dusted pizza peel (if using pizza stone in oven) or pizza pan. Spread BBQ sauce evenly, add about 3/4 of your cheese. Add chicken pieces, onions, jalapenos, and remaining cheese. Bake until cheese is melted and some of the crust edges are golden brown (about 4-5 minutes if using pizza stone and convection setting). Add chopped cilantro when pizza is out of the oven, and serve. Don’t forget the beer.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

 

Leave a Reply

