The Race that Never Happened

Wenatchee Wild Fire

Source

So last time I blogged, I was getting nervous and excited for the River Run at The Taste of The Harvest Festival, but it got cancelled due to poor air quality because of wild fires in the area. My friend and I were super bummed, we had this whole weekend planned out and it was all we could talk about. During the last two weeks, I took it easy. I only walked or lightly ran during my daughter’s soccer practice. I was feeling pretty nervous about my shin splints and crampy calves holding up to 13.1 miles, but I didn’t have to fret after all. Instead, we went to my daughter’s soccer game and enjoyed some home improvement. Hopefully next year, our schedules will mesh and we can attempt to run this one again. In the mean time, I would like to find a happy medium with weight training and running. I have really put weight training on the back burner for the last few months. I want to also continue to train like I have a half marathon at the end of every month, because I enjoy it. I like the feeling of accomplishment and pride. I would also love to work on improving my time, I want to be that person that can run under 9-minute miles for a long distance, and right now I am having a hard time believing I can. In time…in time.

Leave a Reply

